Keanu to Play Spike- No No No No No No NO (did I say no?)

http://www.animationmagazine.net/article/9452

I’m covered in “eww” right now! Ugh. There is definitely some kind of trend for doing live action anime movies right now (I blame you, Death  Note!). I thought it was horrible enough that they were working on a live DBZ movie (c’mon, the animated version is torture enough) but I don’t want to see them butcher a series that I love so deeply. Cowboy Bebop is one of my all time favorite shows, and Spike is one of my all time favorite leading men. He’s quiet and debonair and deep on so many levels. Keanu Reeves is still Ted. The only reason the Matrix worked was because they wrote to his acting ability (which is basically saying “woah” and looking like he has no idea what’s going on). Aside from that horrible touch of casting, you know they’re going to make the graphics look terrible. And let’s be honest anyway- who, other than otaku who will cry over this injustice, will actually go see a movie about bounty hunters in space?

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Kate said,

    I’ll see it. But I won’t like it.
    And I’ll cry my eyes out afterwards because:

    1) THEY WILL INEVITABLY DO ED WRONG.
    2) KEANU REEVES? What?!
    3) I love Spike. I don’t want them to do him wrong. I agree that he’s one of the best lead characters in any Shinichiro Watanabe anime – no, any anime EVER.
    4) HOW THE HELL ARE THEY GONNA DO SPIKE’S HAIR?!

  2. 2

    otakulibrarian said,

    I know, I know. I’ll see it too just on principle.

    You know I didn’t even consider the Ed aspect. How can you possibly represent her in human form? They’re definitely going to play up Spike/Julia too, which is something I didn’t even like in the anime because Julia was simply not good enough for Spike. And yes, Spike will likely look like he has a mop on his head- and will it be green?

  3. 3

    […] any original ideas anymore?) but this new trend of anime/manga to movies might do me in. I’ve previously discussed my disdain for the casting of Keanu Reeves as Spike from Cowboy Bebop, but at least Spike is […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

