Greetings and Salutations

oh god, not another librarian blog

Yeah, we librarians tend to be wordy. We’re also strongly opinionated. I’m no exception to that rule! However, I hope to contribute something useful to both the library and otaku communities with what I post here.

So what is the otaku librarian? This is my place to discuss issues involving anime, manga, graphic novels, and other otaku-related areas, particularly as they relate to the library world. I’ll also post reviews of new media (print and video alike) that you will (hopefully) find useful either personally or professionally. Above and beyond that, this will be a place for to talk about my personal love for all things otaku and Japan.

A little about me: I’m a young adult librarian in my mid-twenties. I’ve been working full-time in the library field for a little over a year now. Before that, I was involved in the internet and media communities. My background is in the history of technology (weird, I know) and, of course, library and information science. I’m a die hard YA librarian; I spend all of my time reading YA lit and will fight to the death for the support of teen programs in the library. I used to want to be a lawyer, but I feel like I have now truly found my calling in life. I play video games, read comics, and of course watch loads of anime.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Emily said,

    Hey, welcome to library blog land! I’m very new to it myself. And dude, we always need new blogs, it’s such a great way to collaborate! Keep posting! I’m gonna add you to my blogroll, but don’t get that excited because I don’t really have many visitors yet. 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

